Too much flow for SPS

Discussion section for sps and lps corals.

Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 11 Apr 2011 09:46

Would it be a wise move to place SPS in direct flow of an MP40? The area in front of the Vortech is only about 7" away from it. I don't have a huge amount of space for corals on the rocks so want to use as much as possible.

Image
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby silverdollar on 11 Apr 2011 10:04

i once put a plating montipora in front of my mp40 and didnt like it at all,developed like a like brown algae on it which dissappeared as soon as i moved it,you could allways move the vortech to the back of the tank and let the flow hit the glass then the corals
silverdollar
Sub Adult
Sub Adult
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 20 May 2009 20:50
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 11 Apr 2011 10:09

silverdollar wrote:i once put a plating montipora in front of my mp40 and didnt like it at all,developed like a like brown algae on it which dissappeared as soon as i moved it,you could allways move the vortech to the back of the tank and let the flow hit the glass then the corals


The red dot is where the vortech is located, which is at the back of the tank. I unfortunately don't have a huge amount of options in moving it.
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby silverdollar on 11 Apr 2011 10:13

id imagine if you put an acropora should be ok with the high, is the vortech on full trottle?
silverdollar
Sub Adult
Sub Adult
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 20 May 2009 20:50
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby paul .... on 11 Apr 2011 10:44

Dont have a solution for ye nige but loveing the tank :lol: ;) is that your baby? ;)
Batteries not included
User avatar
paul ....
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 2124
Joined: 13 Jan 2011 21:39
Location: Dublin
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 11 Apr 2011 10:53

silverdollar wrote:id imagine if you put an acropora should be ok with the high, is the vortech on full trottle?


Yeah, it's on 100% Lagoon mode.
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 11 Apr 2011 10:57

paul .... wrote:Dont have a solution for ye nige but loveing the tank :lol: ;) is that your baby? ;)


Cheers Paul, it is indeed an older photo though. I've got a few more Corals now, still trying to decide on placement though!

There's a blog on it in the blog section.
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby 40+ on 11 Apr 2011 18:18

Hi Nige,

I have birdsnest and a blue acro right in the line of fire of my MP10 (7") and there fine. I keep mine on 100% reef crest.
Image
User avatar
40+
Sub Adult
Sub Adult
 
Posts: 734
Joined: 31 Aug 2010 12:21
Location: Dublin, Swords
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Glenn 10 on 11 Apr 2011 22:00

I personaly wouldn't place coral that close to a pump. Even if the coral can tolerate the flow, the single direction flow will effect the growth pattern of the coral in a nagative way. Acroporas etc like random flow.
I was watching a you tube vid of sanjay joshi's 500 gallon reef and he was pointing out how no corals grew in the line of a tunze pump.

MP40s move a fair bit of water if it's the same pump i'm thinking of.

Can you put it up higher and in the middle ?
Most iv'e seen have em on one end. they can make waves if set right.
Just salt on my fish, tanks.Image
Glenn 10
Juvenile
Juvenile
 
Posts: 435
Joined: 09 Jan 2011 00:22
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Haggis on 11 Apr 2011 22:53

It's a tricky one Nige, as with such a shallow tank you don't have much room to manoeuvre. I'd avoid putting corals in the line of fire of an MP40 especially on lagoon mode (reefcrest might me a bit more forgiving) as you'll definitely end up with tissue damage or, as Glenn says, strange growth patterns.

Does it have to be on that wall? How about on the right hand side (of the photo) wall or, if it has to stay there, slightly over to the left pointing down that "valley" in your rockwork?

I know your tank is rimless but have you thought about using short pulse and setting up a standing wave? You'd definitely be able to raise the pump if you did this and there wouldn't be as much direct flow on the corals.

G.
User avatar
Haggis
Juvenile
Juvenile
 
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Apr 2010 18:09
Location: Dublin
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 11 Apr 2011 23:34

Unfortunately it's a bit of a balancing act in terms of vertical placement, too high and I get too many whirlpools drawing air down into the tank, too low and the sand flies everywhere.

I'd love to use the short pulse mode to get a wave going but it's just too damn noisy.

Yeah actually might be an idea to move it left a bit. I'm also thinking about buying another Vortech, that way I can lower the flow rate. Expensive alternative though :roll:
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Haggis on 12 Apr 2011 00:03

Have you tried using the foam cowl? I'd imagine it would cut down the whirlpools and let you raise the pump a bit higher.
User avatar
Haggis
Juvenile
Juvenile
 
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Apr 2010 18:09
Location: Dublin
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 12 Apr 2011 00:06

Haggis wrote:Have you tried using the foam cowl? I'd imagine it would cut down the whirlpools and let you raise the pump a bit higher.


Never heard of a foam cowl. Google came up with this:

Image

Any good at knitting? :lol:
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Haggis on 12 Apr 2011 00:46

Don't know what the correct name is but your MP40 should have come with what's essentially a ring of thin foam material. You put it on the wet side and it's used to prevent things like anemones from getting sucked into the propeller.

After a quick visit to the Vortech site they're called foam guards.


Image
User avatar
Haggis
Juvenile
Juvenile
 
Posts: 488
Joined: 18 Apr 2010 18:09
Location: Dublin
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Too much flow for SPS

Postby Nige on 12 Apr 2011 08:15

Just checked the Vortech box and your spot on, it did indeed come with a foam ring. :D
"Practice a reliable attitude towards fish" Mister Booja Booja
User avatar
Nige
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: 08 Mar 2009 17:23
Location: Dublin 2
Blog: View Blog (1)

Next

Return to Hard Corals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Our Sponsors

Aquarium Solutions Petstop Superstore Fins Fur & Feathers Maidenhead Aquatics Seahorse Aquariums
cron