Changing for sps

Discussion section for sps and lps corals.

Re: Changing for sps

Postby spr100 on 30 Jun 2014 23:01

Yeah same thing your water can be to perfect that's when you get the colour from sps when they have a low density of algae hence the brighter colours
Image
User avatar
spr100
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1345
Joined: 09 Aug 2009 21:49
Location: naas
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby Niall_jones on 11 Jul 2014 09:05

I am having this very same problem. All my sofities are closing up (Zoas, Mushrooms, Kenya Tree and Xenia) But LPS and SPS are doing fine, its been going on for a week or so now and I have no idea what is going on. Like you my nitrate and phosphate are near zero, so is my water to clean for my soft corals? And what do I do to bring the nitrate and phosphate level up?
Niall_jones
Sub Adult
Sub Adult
 
Posts: 736
Joined: 14 Aug 2013 16:39
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby spr100 on 11 Jul 2014 09:27

Just feed the tank more but a week is nothing it could be a few things
Image
User avatar
spr100
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1345
Joined: 09 Aug 2009 21:49
Location: naas
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby Niall_jones on 11 Jul 2014 10:18

Any idea's of what else it could be? I have changed noting else in the tank, it has been running the same for about 8 months now.
Niall_jones
Sub Adult
Sub Adult
 
Posts: 736
Joined: 14 Aug 2013 16:39
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby spr100 on 11 Jul 2014 11:03

What are your water parameters. Is it all soft corals or just some
Image
User avatar
spr100
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1345
Joined: 09 Aug 2009 21:49
Location: naas
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby Niall_jones on 11 Jul 2014 12:41

Nitrate and phosphate are barely detectable at all. Got SH to also check my water to make sure I was not wrong and they have found the same and are saying that the low levels of Nitrate and Phosphate are causing the corals to close. So they have suggested feeding the tanks more. Would it help if I skipped a water change to help build up these levels?
Niall_jones
Sub Adult
Sub Adult
 
Posts: 736
Joined: 14 Aug 2013 16:39
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby spr100 on 11 Jul 2014 13:11

Nope don't skip water changes and you should test for more than just nitrate and phosphate I'm guessing your sps is very bright in colour. Have you changed flow or lighting. What's your k level alk and calcium how often are you testing what's your ph.
Image
User avatar
spr100
Adult
Adult
 
Posts: 1345
Joined: 09 Aug 2009 21:49
Location: naas
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Changing for sps

Postby liam on 11 Jul 2014 13:17

A water change not only takes out pollution but adds back trace elements (as well as the macro ones) so you really shouldn't skip them.

Additional food will also drive up Nitrates and Phosphates, just like if you over-feed your fish NO3 and PO4 will rise.

--Liam.
liam
Juvenile
Juvenile
 
Posts: 382
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 09:18
Location: Newport, Tipperary
Blog: View Blog (0)

Previous

Return to Hard Corals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Our Sponsors

Aquarium Solutions Petstop Superstore Fins Fur & Feathers Maidenhead Aquatics Seahorse Aquariums
cron